statelibqld_1_106448_celebrations_at_the_belle_vue_hotel_brisbane_january_1940Here is where we proudly display the names of our eighty-two generous supporters! Please join us in showering them with hugs, kisses, funny hats and undying gratitude. Their contributions have made paying our writers possible!

Due to their generosity, plus the help of many who’ve spread the word of our campaign, together we’ve raised $5592! Which means all works published in 2017 will receive $50 payment, with any remaining funds being split equally between our 10 hardworking volunteer editors. (They should just about be able to buy dinner with that, but hey, it’s a start!) 

A special thanks to the first man on our supporters list, and the first man to always support Verity La, our incredible (and humble) founding editor, Nigel Featherstone. His vision and behind the scenes assistance were instrumental in turning our dream of  paying the writers into a reality. 

Without further ado, we present you with the names of our very own Verity La heros!

Nigel Featherstone

Orazio Seminara

Lyne Davies

North Shore Cement and Sand

Ramon Loyola

Tamara Miles

Deb Wain

Tincture Journal

Magdalena Ball


Anthony Macris

Anna Spargo-Ryan

Linda Godfrey

James Walton

Sydney Review of Books

Beth Spencer

Melinda Smith

Sue Terry

Jen Webb

Stella and Sandro Seminara

James Fry

Recent Work Press

Gabrielle Bryden

Meredith Pitt

Annie Blake

Andrea Goldsmith

Carmel Bendon

Fleur Beaupert

Stuart Barnes

David Ades

John Clanchy

Sean Crawley

John Stokes

Nathanael O’Reilly

Denise Young

Leanne Neill

University of New South Wales

Ariel Riveros Pavez

Martin Dolan

Phillip Stamatellis

Karen Middleton

Judy Horacek

Deborah Cleland

Sarah Mason

Amanda Hickey

Tamara Lazaroff

Kathryn Favelle

Adrian Caesar

Sean Wright

Ashley Capes

Tricia Dearborn

Tony Maniaty

Mascara Literary Review

Antidote Films

Craig Billingham

Gregory Piko

David Stavanger

Paul Hetherington

Chris Lynch

David McCooey

Ty Wynen

Anni Wawrzynczak

Leife Shallcross

Robyn Cadwallader

George Dunford

Duncan Felton

Robyn Cadwallader

Zeina Issa

Maria Esguerra

Susan McCreery

Gordon Peake

11 x Anonymous (we love you too!)


And in further exciting news, Verity La has been awarded an Australian Council for the Arts grant to pay its writers in 2018 — woohoo! Due to the generous assistance of OzCo we can pay all writers and artists published in the journal in 2018 the grand sum of $100. Our fifteen editors will continue on in a voluntary capacity, but we’re working on changing that too. If you’d like to help us out, please get in touch! 

As Winston Churchill told the Royal Academy on 30 April 1938, “The arts are essen­tial to any com­plete national life. The State owes it to itself to sus­tain and encour­age them… ill fares the race which fails to salute the arts with the rev­er­ence and delight which are their due”.